Francesco Profumo

5G Italy / Francesco Profumo

Francesco Profumo

President, Bruno Kessler Foundation


Francesco Profumo (M’88-SM’90) was born in Savona, Italy, in 1953. He is Professor of Electrical Machines and Drives at Politecnico di Torino and Adjunct Professor at University of Bologna.

He was Visiting Professor at University of Wisconsin – Madison (1986-1989), at Nagasaki University (1996-1997), at Czech Technical University (1999) and University of Cordoba (2004 and 2005).

Dr. Profumo was the Dean of the Engineering Faculty at the Politecnico di Torino (2003 to 2005) and the Rector of the Politecnico di Torino (2005 to 2011).

He has been appointed as President of CNR (National Research Council) in July 2011 and as Italian Minister of Education, University and Research (MIUR) in November 2011.

Prof. Profumo is the Chairman of Bruno Kessler Foundation, theChairman of Fondazione Compagni di Sanpaolo,the Chairman of Turin Campus ESCP,the Chairman of SAFM.

His fields of interest are power electronics conversion, high power devices, applications of new power devices, integrated electronic/electromechanical design, high  response speed  servo  drives, new  electrical  machines structures, power conditiong systems for fuel cells applications.

He published  more than  250  papers in  International  Conferences and Technical Journals. Dr. Profumo won the IEEE-IAS second prize paper in 1991(USA) and in 1997 (USA), the IEEE-IAS first prize paper in 1992 (USA) and the JIEE-IPEC first prize paper in 2005 (JAPAN).

He was awarded by the Signum Aureum Facultatis Mechanicae Universitatis Miskolciensis, July 1, 2000, University of Miskolc (Hungary), by the Honorary Professorship, University of Cordoba (Argentina),

August 11, 2004, by the Honorary Doctor Degree, Technical University of Riga (Latvia), October 12, 2006, by the Honorary Doctor Degree, Politechnica of Bucarest (Romania), June 15, 2007, by the Honorary Doctor Degree, University of Miskolc (Hungary), June 26, 2007, by the Honorary Professorship, Jiao Tong University, Xi An (China), September 11, 2007, by the Honorary Professorship, Henan

Polytechnic University, Jiaozuo (China), September 27, 2009, by  the  Honorary Doctor Degree, Politechnica of Tirana (Albania), October 1, 2009, by Honorary Professorship, Tongji University, Shanghai (Cina), June 20, 2012 and by Honorary Professorship, Luoyang Normal University, Luoyang (Cina), November 22, 2013.

Further awards: China Awards by Italy_China Foundation (2009), Certificate of Appreciation by Fulbright Commission (2009), Orden Universidad Javeriana by Javeriana University (Bogotà, Colombia) (2010), Escudo de Oro by University of Antioquia (Medellin, Colombia) (2010),Lion d’Oro by Lion International (Torino) (2008), Award Valdo Fusi (Torino) (2011), Award Guido Carli (Rome) (2011) and Award Pericle (Torre di Ruggiero) (2013).

He has been the Chairman of the G8 University Summit 2009, (Torino) (2009) and the Chairman of the Columbus Association (55 European and Latin American Universities) (2006-2011).

He has been the Chairman of IREN Group (2013-2016), Member of the Board of Unicredit Private Bank (2008/2010), of the Board of Il Sole 24 Ore (2007/2009), of the Board of  Fidia (2007/2011), of the Board of Telecom (2011), of the Board of Pirelli (2011) and of the General Committee of Unicredit Private Banking (2011).

He is Member of Academia Europaea – Physics and Engineering Section (2010) and member of the Accademia delle Scienze (2008).


The Role of Research: Investments and Growth

Questo sito fa uso di cookie. Per acconsentire clicca su Accetto. Per approfondire: Cookie Policy

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.